CITY OF ADA REGULAR MEETING MAY 1, 2023

The Ada City Council met in regular session, Monday, May 1, 2023, at 12:00 Noon at Irving Community Center, 530 West 5th Street, Ada, Oklahoma. Public notice provided by posting the agenda on the City Hall bulletin board on Thursday, April 27, 2023 at 3:15 p.m., and posting on the City of Ada web site Thursday, April 27, 2023.

Council Members Present: John Hargrave, Karen Hudson, Randy McFarlin

Bryan Morris, Yoli Vazquez

Council Members Absent: None

Mayor Randy McFarlin called the meeting to order at 12:00 Noon.

Mayor McFarlin led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance

Mayor McFarlin called for a moment of silence.

Presentations by Mayor and Vice Mayor

Mayor McFarlin presented a plaque to Council Member Bryan Morris in appreciation of ten years of service on the Ada City Council.

Vice Mayor John Hargrave was presented a plaque by Mayor McFarlin in appreciation for his service on the Ada City Council serving in the position of Vice Mayor.

Council Member Bryan Morris spoke about his ten years served on the Ada City Council, and how he has appreciated the opportunity to serve.

Vice Mayor John Hargrave expressed his appreciation to Council Member Morris and his years of service, stating Council Member Morris was the "voice of reason" on the Ada City Council.

Vice Mayor Hargrave presented a plaque to Mayor McFarlin in appreciation for service as Mayor.

Oath of Office to Councilpersons

Judge Jim Kemp administered the Oath of Office to Don Griffith, Randy McFarlin, and Karen Hudson.

Following the Oath of Office, a plaque was presented to Mr. Don Griffith in recognition of his years of service on the Ada Municipal Planning Commission.

Mayor McFarlin presented a plaque to Marilyn Ellis, in recognition of her 45 years of employment with the City of Ada.

Mayor McFarlin turned the meeting of the Ada City Council over to City Manager Cody Holcomb.

Election of Mayor

City Manager Holcomb called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Council Member Hudson nominated Randy McFarlin for the position of Mayor.

Council Member Griffith seconded the nomination.

There being no further nominations, a roll call vote was taken with the following vote:

AYE: Griffith, Hargrave, Hudson, McFarlin, Vazquez

NAY: None

Nomination carried 5-0.

Election of Vice Mayor

Mayor McFarlin called for nominations for Vice Mayor.

Council Member Vazquez nominated Council Member Hargrave to serve as Vice Mayor.

Council Member Hudson seconded the nomination.

There being no further nominations, Mayor McFarlin called for a vote taken with the following result:

AYE: Griffith, Hargrave, Hudson, McFarlin, Vazquez

NAY: None

Nomination carried 5-0.

The Staff of Irving Community Center provided lunch to those in attendance.

Mayor McFarlin adjourned the meeting at 12:50 p.m.

Attest: Sally Pool, City Clerk Randy McFarlin, Mayor